Wood/hand

Table Tennis Rules

Last updated 7 years ago

joshnathan llorente

joshnathan llorente Asked 7 years ago

good day sir ..

will it still be a good shot when the ball hits the hand or the wood part of the racket?


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario Answered 7 years ago

Hi Joshnathan,

Yes this is still a good shot.  Everything below your wrist is considered part of the racket. 


Notify me of updates
Add to Favourites
Back to Questions

Thoughts on this question

B G

B G Posted 7 years ago

I read this rule earlier and it makes me wonder if it's legal to intentionally hit the ball with your racket hand, for the purposes of neutralizing spin when returning a serve, or for a short drop shot.  I'm not sure if it would be worthwhile to do though, however.

Jeff Plumb

Jeff Plumb from PingSkills Posted 7 years ago

Hi B G,

It would certainly be legal but it would be difficult to make your return effective. Interesting thought though.  


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario from PingSkills Posted 7 years ago

You would have to still have the racket in your hand as well.

Jeff Plumb

Jeff Plumb from PingSkills Posted 7 years ago

Good point Alois!


Become a free member to post a comment about this question.