Wet ball

Table Tennis Rules

Last updated 4 years ago

Malke Vu

Malke Vu Asked 6 years ago

Hello guys, 

I have a serious question about the wet ball. My opponent is right handed. It was 10:9 for him and he served the ball. While he served he pretended to serve an backspin service so I tried to push it back. The problem was the ball. It was so wet that after it touches my rubber, it immediately fall down. So I asked the umpire but he still give the point to my opponent. 

My question is : If I can make the ball wet to manipulate the balls surface, is this allowed? 

SORRY FOR THE LONG TEXT


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario Answered 6 years ago

Hi Malke,

This is definitely not allowed.  If the umpire sees that you are doing this they can award the point against you.  This is very poor sportsmanship if they did it deliberately.


Notify me of updates
Add to Favourites
Back to Questions

Thoughts on this question

Malke Vu

Malke Vu Posted 6 years ago

Ok now I have a proof against him and against the umpire. 

And thanks for your answer. Helps me keeping a high win quote =D


Frendy Halim

Frendy Halim Posted 6 years ago

the umpire is sucks ! i'll vote you anyway... it's unfair match !


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario from PingSkills Posted 6 years ago

Sometimes the umpires don't know any better because they are players who are forced to umpire.


Julio Torres

Julio Torres Posted 6 years ago

Things like that happens a lot on small and rookie tournaments because there isn't real umpires, just other players, being forced to referee, like Alois said before


Frendy Halim

Frendy Halim Posted 6 years ago

yeah... when i watch the rookie tournament,, the kids are try to touch the table and jump to hit the ball
it's funny... but not funny if they're not a rookie thou...


ganesh burra

ganesh burra Posted 6 years ago

Hi Alois,

             During match it's well possible that all my T-shirt is soaked with sweat. Is it legal that just in case I rub the rubber against my T-shirt the I continue to play?


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario from PingSkills Posted 6 years ago

You aren't allowed to play with your bat wet..  In this situation the umpire should allow you to use your towel more often.


ganesh burra

ganesh burra Posted 6 years ago

Thanks Alois, it does get very humid out here.


leonardo gabica

leonardo gabica Posted 6 years ago

But Alois my hand is very sweaty when i play that my racket turns black and smells like rotten fish
and when i touch the ball in my left hand it gets sweaty :( should i throw the ball from my palm
with a towel to cover my palm to prevent it from getting wet?
Because you said it is definitely illegal to make the ball wet, but i am not doing it on purpose
It's Just in my hand :(


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario from PingSkills Posted 6 years ago

You should just dry your hand before you serve each time.


TheLittleYellowBouncing Ball

TheLittleYellowBouncing Ball Posted 6 years ago

When one checks the rules on the ITTF website there is no mention of sweat balls, or wet balls. Its actually quite difficult to find any "Official" wording about this. The best I have been able to come up with is "Verbal" sportsmanship conventions as espoused by players and umpires as to what is done.


ujjval verma

ujjval verma Posted 6 years ago

My teammate lost a full match as he wasn't able to reply on opponent serving without toss. Umpire remain silent while we kept requesting.

I lost a very-2 close match in which my opponent got the match point on a serve without toss. I request umpire 3-4 times during the best of 5 match that my opponent is not tossing the ball. Umpire warned him but never penalized him.

Umpires are sometimes $#@!~ ... well... but this is part of game so sometimes we have to carry on with it !!!

 


Emmanuel Espinosa

Emmanuel Espinosa Posted 5 years ago

Sir... What if the situation is like this? We were playing in a gymnasium (doubles) and it was raining. Apparently there was a small leak in the roof. A drop of rain landed on our side of the table. Without our knowledge the ball apparently bounced on that spot and got wet. In good faith (because we didn't know the ball was wet) we topspinned the ball, got it in but our opponent's block went to the net. They were claiming a let because they were showing a wet spot on their racquet. We were contending that it is not fair to call a let because we were subjected to the same wet ball when we struck it. Is it our fault that we got it in and they didn't? We probably got it in because we hit the dry part. There was no wet spot on our rackets... The umpire favored our opponents and called a let... What do you think sir?


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario from PingSkills Posted 5 years ago

Hi Emmanuel,

In that situation I think the umpire probably made a good call.  In those circumstances where there is something out of the ordinary a let is often the best solution.


Gary gary

Gary gary Posted 4 years ago

hi,

i have question about wet ball,

i was serving and ball was fine and when i hit ball second time its dropped down and i had wet spot on my paddle ,

how rule explain this  situation,i think it should call let,i had shown to my opponent my  racket with  wet spot and he didn't wanna replay.


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario from PingSkills Posted 4 years ago

Hi Gary,

Technically he does’t have to replay the point but in most cases the players will just replay the point because of the wet spot.



Become a free member to post a comment about this question.