Receiver moving before serve

Rules

Anthony Capasso
Anthony Capasso Asked 10 years ago

Hi guys, 

When receiving serve, my opponent says that I can not move to step around or anything until the ball has left the racket. Is this true? Thanks.


Alois Rosario
Member Badge Alois Rosario Answered 10 years ago

Hi Anthony,

No this isn’t true.  There is no rule about this.  In fact you will notice that a lot of the top players have moved a great deal before the server has actually hit the ball.


Recommended Video

Top 5 Most Misunderstood Table Tennis Rules

In this video, we break down the Top 5 Most Misunderstood Table Tennis Rules that even experienced players often get wrong. Knowing these rules can prevent disputes, boost your confidence, and help you play with a clear head. We’ll cover common misconceptions like:

  • The correct toss height for serving 🎯
  • How many let serves can you do before it is a fault 🚦
  • Why touching the table with your free hand is a no-no 🖐️
  • When volleying loses you the point ❌
  • Whether you are allowed to hit around or under the net 🔄

Watch Now

No comments yet!


Become a free member to post a comment about this question.