Traditional penhold racket rule

Table Tennis Equipment

Last updated 1 month ago

Jasper Low

Jasper Low Asked 1 month ago

Since traditional penhold players only have one rubber, what happens if they use the wooden side of the racket? And what happens to the ball if they happen to do that? 


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario Answered 1 month ago

Hi Jasper,

If the back of the racket doesn't have rubber it is not allowed to be used for hitting the ball.  

Here is the relevant rule:

  1. 2.4.3  A side of the blade used for striking the ball shall be covered with either ordinary pimpled rubber, with pimples outwards having a total thickness including adhesive of not more than 2.0mm, or sandwich rubber, with pimples inwards or outwards, having a total thickness including adhesive of not more than 4.0mm.


Notify me of updates
Add to Favourites
Back to Questions

No comments yet!


Become a free member to post a comment about this question.