Racket touching the table tennis table

Rules

Piyush Patel
Piyush Patel Asked 3 months ago

If my TT Racket touching the table with big noice while serving as well as in rally. Is it foul opponent point?


Alois Rosario
Member Badge Alois Rosario Answered 3 months ago

Hi Piyush,

Touching the table with your racket is not a foul by itself — even if it makes a loud noise.

Here's what matters:

  • You can touch the table with your racket at any time, including during a serve or rally.

  • However, you are not allowed to move the table — if your racket (or body) shifts the table during play, that’s a point for your opponent.

  • You are not allowed to touch the playing surface with your free hand (the hand not holding the racket) during a rally — that’s a foul and your opponent gets the point.

So, if your racket hits the table loudly but:

  • The table doesn’t move,

  • And your free hand doesn't touch the playing surface,

...then play continues as normal.


Recommended Video

Table Tennis Video Tutorial

Doubles Serving Rules

In this video we go over the somewhat complicated rules of serving for doubles in table tennis. There are a couple of extra rules for doubles that you don't apply to singles. In doubles you always serve from the right hand box diagonally to your opponent's right hand box. Each player has 2 serves each. If you've just been receiving then it's your turn to serve next.

Watch Now

No comments yet!


Become a free member to post a comment about this question.