Racket on the table

Rules

Jasper Low
Jasper Low Asked 1 week ago

Hi Alois, I just thought of a interesting scenario. Say player A gives player B a high ball and then puts his racket on the table. Player B smashes the ball but it lands on player A racket before flying off the end of the table. Whose point is that? And does that count as in or out?


Alois Rosario
Member Badge Alois Rosario Answered 2 days ago

Hi Jasper,

Interesting question.  It would be Player B's point because of obstruction.

The intention of “obstruction” is that a player will be penalised under this law only if he or she intercepts the ball in a way that is likely to prevent an opponent making a good return.


Recommended Video

Table Tennis Video Tutorial

Touching the Table

Are you allowed to touch the table during play? The only thing that isn't allowed to touch the table is your free hand. You leg, elbow, playing hand, and even your bat are allowed to. You are not allowed to move the table however.

Watch Now

No comments yet!


Become a free member to post a comment about this question.