Order of service in AWD doubles matches

Table Tennis Rules

Last updated 7 years ago

James Goulding

James Goulding Asked 7 years ago

Hi there,

After playing a number of tournaments in both singles and doubles Wheelchair matches, one common source of confusion is the order of service (who serves to who) after subsequent games.

I have checked out the rules from the ITTF rulebook:

2.13.04  In each game of a doubles match, the pair having the right to serve first shall choose which of them will do so and in the first game of a match the receiving pair shall decide which of them will receive first; in subsequent games of the match, the first server having been chosen, the first receiver shall be the player who served to him or her in the preceding game. 
2.13.05  In doubles, at each change of service the previous receiver shall become the server and the partner of the previous server shall become the receiver. 
 
But this is still a bit confusing to me.  
Could the sequence of who serves in a standard 5 game match be explained in  more "Layman's" terms? For example:
g1  1a serves to 2c
g2  2c serves to 1b, etc (if you get my drift?)
 
Many thanks,
James

 


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario Answered 7 years ago

Hi James,

If you are serving to player A in the first game you have to serve to player B in the second.

This alternates with each game.

At the start of each game the team whose turn it is to serve first can choose which of their players will serve first and then the receivers have to follow the rule above.  So if I received from you in the first game then I have to receive from your partner in the second game.

Hope this helps.  I will be seeing you next week, so I will help you out if this is still confusing. 


Notify me of updates
Add to Favourites
Back to Questions

No comments yet!


Become a free member to post a comment about this question.