legal hiding in serve?

Table Tennis Rules

Last updated 8 years ago

Judah Cagas

Judah Cagas Asked 9 years ago

hi jeff,or al

in this time hiding the serve with the arm is illegal.is there any movement that is like hiding the ball legally.

thank you

judah 

 


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario Answered 9 years ago

Hi Judah,

No the rule doesn't allow anything like that.

It is best to practice it correctly now. 


Notify me of updates
Add to Favourites
Back to Questions

Thoughts on this question

Judah Cagas

Judah Cagas Posted 9 years ago

thank you

Samuel Lim

Samuel Lim Posted 9 years ago

i dont think that hiding the ball is legal nowdays...

Samuel Lim

Samuel Lim Posted 9 years ago

i dont think that hiding the ball is legal nowdays...

Rajesh Sawant

Rajesh Sawant Posted 8 years ago

Hi Samuel,

According to latest rule, Ball should be completely visible to opponent and assistant refree.

If its not then you can take objection and in result your opponent will get first warning and if he/she do it again you will get point.

Alois/Jeff,

Please correct me if I am wrong.

Thanks,

Rajesh Suhas Sawant


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario from PingSkills Posted 8 years ago

Hi Rajesh,

The rule says that the Umpire or Assistant needs to be satisfied that the serve is legal.  They don't necessarily need to see it.  Take a look at the rule as it is in rule book.

2.06.05 As soon as the ball has been projected, the server’s free arm and hand shall be removed from the space between the ball and the net. 
The space between the ball and the net is defined by the ball, the net and its indefinite upward extension. 
2.06.06 It is the responsibility of the player to serve so that the umpire or the assistant umpire can be satisfied that he or she complies with the requirements of the Laws, and either may decide that a service is incorrect. 

 



Become a free member to post a comment about this question.