Who makes the call?

Table Tennis Rules

Last updated 4 years ago

Phillip Simmons

Phillip Simmons Asked 4 years ago

When playing doubles and the server is serving very close to the center line, who has the call if the serve is in or out?  Specifically, if there is a disagreement, (there is no umpire or referee) does the server or receiver have the final say?

Phil


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario Answered 4 years ago

Hi Phillip,

There is no rule for this as the rule says the umpire makes the call.

I always say that if there is no umpire and you are both really unsure just play it again.  This isn’t the rules of Table Tennis but it may be the best way to go in this situation.  It then opens up to players disputing a ball they know was in or out to get a let played but I think we have to assume that most players are honest.


Notify me of updates
Add to Favourites
Back to Questions

No comments yet!


Become a free member to post a comment about this question.