What happens if the ball hits you

Table Tennis Rules

Last updated 6 years ago

Kyle Uy

Kyle Uy Asked 6 years ago

hi Pingskills,

i recently played a match in which my opponent served a very short backspin serve and i leaned far out to push it back

as soon as it hit his side, he hit it hard, right at me. it hit my arm and he said that it hit me while i was above the table, even though it was clearly going over the edge. 

is it my point, or is it his point?

since neither of us knew, we just replayed the point

i THINK he hit it at me accidentally 


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario Answered 6 years ago

Hi Kyle,

This is a rule that a lot of players get wrong.

If the ball hit you above the playing surface it is your opponent's point, even if it was clearly going out.

If the ball had gone past the table and then hit it, it would be your point.


Notify me of updates
Add to Favourites
Back to Questions

No comments yet!


Become a free member to post a comment about this question.