Volleying rules

Table Tennis Rules

Last updated 6 years ago

alex fernandez

alex fernandez Asked 7 years ago

Hi Alois,

When I sack, the ball touches the net, and the ball goes out and touches my opponent off the table, what happens?

And if it is the same but the ball goes to the table, and my opponent touches the ball before the ball bounces, what happens?


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario Answered 7 years ago

Hi Alex,

If the ball is past the table then it doesn't matter what happens after that the ball is out.  So if it touches your opponent it is still their point because the ball is out.

If he touches it before it hits the table and it is still over the table then it is your point.


Notify me of updates
Add to Favourites
Back to Questions

Thoughts on this question

alex fernandez

alex fernandez Posted 7 years ago

9.1 The rally shall be:

         9.1.1 - if, in service, the ball touches the net assembly to pass over it, as long as, moreover, the service is correct or the ball is obstructed by the receiver or his partner;

so i dont understand this.


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario from PingSkills Posted 7 years ago

Hi Alex,

The actual rule states:

2.09.01  The rally shall be a let 
2.09.01.01  if in service the ball, in passing over or around the net assembly, touches it, provided the service is otherwise correct or the ball is obstructed by the receiver or his or her partner; 

It just means that it is a let if the ball touches the net and then hits the other side, unless it is hit by the other player before it hits the table.


alex fernandez

alex fernandez Posted 7 years ago

ok. so if in my sack, the ball touches the net and before the ball bounces on the table, the ball, touches my opponent, would point to me.
alois, if I sack, in elevation, I can change my racket hand? or is incorrect?
thank you very much.


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario from PingSkills Posted 7 years ago

If it touches the net first it would be a let and replay the point.


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario from PingSkills Posted 7 years ago

You are allowed to change hands during the rally.


alex fernandez

alex fernandez Posted 7 years ago

ok but if he touches the ball before the ball touches the table in let, is point for me. yes? (when the ball is in table not out)

ok.i asked that in the service I elevate the ball and when the ball is down I change the racket to the left hand - to the right hand. this is correct yes?

Thanks. I repite my questions because i dont understand you very much , sorry. Repeat I dont speak english very well.


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario from PingSkills Posted 7 years ago

No it is a let if he touches the ball before it bounces because it has hit the net.

I am not sure about the rule of changing hands during a serve.  I will find out for you.


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario from PingSkills Posted 7 years ago

Here is a reply from our trusty umpire extraordinaire Graeme Ireland on the matter of changing hands for the serve.

"Yes, there is nothing in the Laws (or anywhere else) to prevent this. The service law doesn’t mention the racket at all. It is readily accepted that you can change racket hands during a rally, and the rally starts as soon as the ball is in play, which is it as soon as the ball is projected in service."
 

 


alex fernandez

alex fernandez Posted 7 years ago

ok.thank you very much. so when i sack the ball bounces once in my area touches the net and before touches my opponent area my opponent touches the ball (into the table), will be obstruction and will be point for me . yes??


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario from PingSkills Posted 7 years ago

No, it is a let.


alex fernandez

alex fernandez Posted 7 years ago

ok.if the ball go out and touch the ball outside the table will be point me. yes? (in a let/net)


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario from PingSkills Posted 7 years ago

That is bal goes outside the table then it is already out.  It is a fault.


alex fernandez

alex fernandez Posted 7 years ago

ok.thank you very much.i finally understand.

so when i sack the ball bounces once in my area, and touches the net before the ball touches the table, my opponent touches the ball (into the table) is to let. Right???
otherwise. when i sack the ball bounces once in my area, touches the net and goes out but my opponent touches the ball outside, will be point for my opponent. right???
thank you.


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario from PingSkills Posted 6 years ago

Well done you have it all correct.



Become a free member to post a comment about this question.