Touching finger or the racket handle

Table Tennis Rules

Last updated 5 years ago

Jayce Soberano

Jayce Soberano Asked 5 years ago

Hi!

Im not sure if you guys have a video of it but i was wondering what the rules are when it comes to accidentally hit the ball with the finger or the racket handle, the ball goes over the net, and hits the other side of the table.

Example is this video of Timo Boll and Xu Xin at 5:01

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KuSnpWSFcRw

What were the rules then and now?


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario Answered 5 years ago

Hi Jayce,

When this happened it seems they were playing under the old rules which were that if you hit the ball twice, including with your fingers and then your bat, you lose the point.

Now the rule has changed so that if you hit the ball twice unintentionally it is still a legal hit.


Notify me of updates
Add to Favourites
Back to Questions

No comments yet!


Become a free member to post a comment about this question.