Timeout rules

Table Tennis Rules

Last updated 6 years ago

Kaustubh Kulkarni

Kaustubh Kulkarni Asked 6 years ago

When a player takes a timeout, does his opponent also get a timeout? If no, what should a player do when his opponent has taken a timeout?

My coach and some players say that both players must take a timeout at once (I think they are wrong because what will happen when one player wants timeout and other doesn't).


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario Answered 6 years ago

Hi Kaustubh,

When one player takes their timeout the other player also can talk to their coach.  The player that calls the timeout has up to 1 minute.  If they want to come back before the 1 minute is finished then the other player also has to come back. 

The other player still has the opportunity to call their timeout during the match.

Both players or pairs get 1 timeout each for the match.


Notify me of updates
Add to Favourites
Back to Questions

Thoughts on this question

Jeff Plumb

Jeff Plumb from PingSkills Posted 6 years ago

Take a look at the rules for timeouts, and some advice on using your timeouts effectively.


Daevonn Esteban

Daevonn Esteban Posted 6 years ago

They should tell the other player if he wants to take a timeout also but doesn't use his timeout.



Become a free member to post a comment about this question.