Throwing the Ball up Serving Rule

Rules

Robert Goldstein
Robert Goldstein Asked 4 months ago

What happens if the server throws the ball up but, mid-air, decides not to continue with that attempted serve and instead just catches the ball so that it is not an attempt to have it be his serve. Does the server lose the point?

Robert Goldstein


Alois Rosario
Member Badge Alois Rosario Answered 4 months ago

Hi Robert,

 There server would lose the point. The ball is in play when you throw it up so you have to complete the serve. 


Recommended Video

Table Tennis Rules Overview

This video lesson takes you through the essential Table Tennis rules. Watch the video and become an expert in topics such as how to win points, what score to play up to, and how to serve in doubles. There is no need to have arguments over the rules so get all your friends to watch this lesson too!

Watch Now

No comments yet!


Become a free member to post a comment about this question.