Last updated 3 years ago
A is in wheel chair
B is a standing player
X is a standing player
Y is a standing player
Is the rule 14.1.4 is applicable to TEAM XY also in the double events
Yes that rule still applies. Here is an explanation in the rules handbook.
14.1.4 When a doubles pair comprises two players who are in wheelchairs due to a physical disability, the server first makes a service and the receiver makes a return, but thereafter either player of the disabled pair may make a return. However if any part of a player’s wheelchair protrudes beyond the imaginary extension of the centre line of the table, the umpire will award a point to the opposing pair.
This also applies when a "mixed pair" (one standing one wheelchair) are playing together. Either player may return the ball (after the initial service and return), but each player must stay in his or her own half of the court. No part of the player's wheelchair can cross the imaginary extension of the line and the standing player can not put a foot over this line either.
I hope this clears it up for you.
Become a free member to post a comment about this question.