Taking turns in doubles with one wheelchair

Table Tennis Rules

Last updated 4 years ago

KIRAN SUKLA

KIRAN SUKLA Asked 4 years ago

Team AB

A is in wheel chair

B is a standing player 

Team XY

X  is a standing player

Y  is a standing player

Is the rule 14.1.4 is applicable to TEAM XY also in the double events


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario Answered 4 years ago

Hi Kiran,

Yes that rule still applies.  Here is an explanation in the rules handbook.

 

  1. 14.1.4  When a doubles pair comprises two players who are in wheelchairs due to a physical disability, the server first makes a service and the receiver makes a return, but thereafter either player of the disabled pair may make a return. However if any part of a player’s wheelchair protrudes beyond the imaginary extension of the centre line of the table, the umpire will award a point to the opposing pair.

  2. This also applies when a "mixed pair" (one standing one wheelchair) are playing together.  Either player may return the ball (after the initial service and return), but each player must stay in his or her own half of the court.  No part of the player's wheelchair can cross the imaginary extension of the line and the standing player can not put a foot over this line either.

I hope this clears it up for you.


Notify me of updates
Add to Favourites
Back to Questions

Thoughts on this question

Jean Balthazar

Jean Balthazar Posted 4 years ago

Wasn't aware of that rule. It must be a nightmare to enforce this "imaginary line crossing" rule, especially from the umpire's position!


KIRAN SUKLA

KIRAN SUKLA Posted 4 years ago

But XY is standing player how we can apply to them. because in rule book " Handbook for

MATCH OFFICIALS" page no 50 says 

 

LAWS FOR STANDING PLAY

There are no exceptions to the laws of table tennis for standing players with a disability. All players play according to the laws and regulations of ITTF. On the classification cards there is a section indicating what limitations, if any, a player has in making a legal serve. 


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario from PingSkills Posted 4 years ago

Hi Kiran,

The standing players still have to take it in turns like they normally would.


Shaun Synot

Shaun Synot Posted 4 years ago

That's good to know because I am playing with a partner in a wheelchair this week. 


KIRAN SUKLA

KIRAN SUKLA Posted 4 years ago

SIR 

Both the team AB & XY will play according to the rule as u r mentioned earlier.

that is 

  1. 14.1.4  When a doubles pair comprises two players who are in wheelchairs due to a physical disability, the server first makes a service and the receiver makes a return, but thereafter either player of the disabled pair may make a return. However if any part of a player’s wheelchair protrudes beyond the imaginary extension of the centre line of the table, the umpire will award a point to the opposing pair.

  2. This also applies when a "mixed pair" (one standing one wheelchair) are playing together.  Either player may return the ball (after the initial service and return), but each player must stay in his or her own half of the court.  No part of the player's wheelchair can cross the imaginary extension of the line and the standing player can not put a foot over this line either.

  3. IS IT OK. IF WRONG PLEASE CORRECT ME

Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario from PingSkills Posted 4 years ago

That is correct.


KIRAN SUKLA

KIRAN SUKLA Posted 4 years ago

thank u sir

 



Become a free member to post a comment about this question.