Stamping foot on serves

Table Tennis Rules

Last updated 7 years ago

Michael Yip

Michael Yip Asked 7 years ago

is it illegal to stamp your foot on serve because i see pros do it like dimitri ovtcharov but ive also heard that is illegal its that true?


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario Answered 7 years ago

Hi Michael,

No it isn't illegal any more.  It used to be in the rules as being illegal but now it is not in there.


Notify me of updates
Add to Favourites
Back to Questions

Thoughts on this question

Cloud Cledera

Cloud Cledera Posted 7 years ago

Yes it is true, it WAS illegal back then because it kinda distracted opponents receiving the services of the game. 

Nowadays, we don't mind it anymore. Besides, there is also a certain logic why people stamp their foot. It is because, when serving, there is a need for turning of the body and foot. Not all players serve without turn their foot. Dimitrij Ovtcharov kinda really needs to serve with a stamp because his service needs balance afterwards. 

The only thing is that you can't shout on your opponent when they are receiving your balls and services.



Become a free member to post a comment about this question.