Seving laws

Rules

Andrew Smith
Andrew Smith Asked 13 years ago

I have just been watching Simon Gerada play Miao Miao and when Simon is serving he tosses the ball up and back rather than straight up and down (which I thought was the rule). My question is this a legal serve and if not why was he not faulted? Thanks Andrew


Alois Rosario
Member Badge Alois Rosario Answered 13 years ago

Hi Andrew,

There is a bit of tolerance with this rule.  The rule says almost vertical and is open to interpretation.  It is one of the service rules that needs fixing.

At major championships they sometimes get more stringent on this rule.


Recommended Video

Table Tennis Video Tutorial

Touching the Table

Are you allowed to touch the table during play? The only thing that isn't allowed to touch the table is your free hand. You leg, elbow, playing hand, and even your bat are allowed to. You are not allowed to move the table however.

Watch Now

Thoughts on this question


Andrew Smith

Andrew Smith Posted 13 years ago

Thanks - that clears it up for me. Regards Andrew


Become a free member to post a comment about this question.