Serving with the side of the racket

Table Tennis Rules

Last updated 6 years ago

GUEGAN Gaël

GUEGAN Gaël Asked 6 years ago

Hi Alois and Jeff,

I wanted to know if the table tennis rules allowed to serve deliberately with the side of the racket. I think that can be a way to surpise the opponent and make him lose his concentration and so lose his return. Can we do that in competition ?

I have read that it is disrespectful for the opponent and so that we don't allow to do this serve...

Thanks for your answer !

Gaël, a french fan.


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario Answered 6 years ago

Hi Gaël,

Interesting idea,  It is allowed but you will find that it is not very effective.  It can also be a bit risky.  It would be better to work on your spin serves and gain an advantage with that.


Notify me of updates
Add to Favourites
Back to Questions

No comments yet!


Become a free member to post a comment about this question.