Serving returning automatically

Rules

Paul Griz
Paul Griz Asked 5 years ago

Dear Alois,

Yesterday, during a friendly match, I did a strong backspin serve.  The ball bounced once on my side, then cleared the net onto the opponent’s side very close to the net, then back over the net onto my side before my opponent could get to it. It never touched the net so will this be considered a legal serve? Never saw this happen before. 


Alois Rosario
Member Badge Alois Rosario Answered 5 years ago

Hi Paul,

Yes that is a legal serve and it would be your point.

Difficult to do though...


Recommended Video

Table Tennis Video Tutorial

Touching the Table

Are you allowed to touch the table during play? The only thing that isn't allowed to touch the table is your free hand. You leg, elbow, playing hand, and even your bat are allowed to. You are not allowed to move the table however.

Watch Now

Thoughts on this question


Paul Griz

Paul Griz Posted 5 years ago

Thank you so much Alois.  It was unintended and probably too risky to try during a serious match.


Alois Rosario

Member Badge Alois Rosario from PingSkills Posted 5 years ago

Yep I have seen it done deliberately but it isn't always successful, even for a very advanced player.


Become a free member to post a comment about this question.