Serving from the side of the table

Table Tennis Rules

Last updated 7 years ago

Ashraf Syed

Ashraf Syed Asked 7 years ago

Is it allowed in Table Tennis to serve from the sides of the table? If yes, then how close can one get, officially, to the net while serving? 

Thanks and regards.


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario Answered 7 years ago

Hi Ashraf,

The ball has to be behind the end line of the table during the serve until it is hit.  The line of the table can be extended sideways as far as you want.

That means you can't go around the side of the table to hit the serve.


Notify me of updates
Add to Favourites
Back to Questions

Thoughts on this question

Ashraf Syed

Ashraf Syed Posted 7 years ago

The answer was really helpful. Thank you once again.


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario from PingSkills Posted 7 years ago

No problems Ashraf.



Become a free member to post a comment about this question.