service/end lines

Table Tennis Rules

Last updated 8 years ago

Kathleen Higgins

Kathleen Higgins Asked 8 years ago

Must the ball go towards/over the endline for a proper serve or can it go over the sidelines after bouncing?


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario Answered 8 years ago

Hi Kathleen,

You are allowed to serve the ball so that it goes off the side of the table after bouncing.  This can often be effective to get your opponent to move out wide.

The only time that you have to serve the ball so that it goes towards the end line is if you are playing wheelchair Table Tennis. 


Notify me of updates
Add to Favourites
Back to Questions

No comments yet!


Become a free member to post a comment about this question.