Serve Rule

Rules

Uzair UK
Uzair UK Asked 6 years ago

Hi, My questions is : 

In a service , If ball hit the edge and opponent would not be able to contact the ball or miss the stroke, so in this situation what should we do? 
shall we serve again? 


Kindly help me regarding this rule.


Alois Rosario
Member Badge Alois Rosario Answered 6 years ago

Hi Uzair,

It is considered a good serve and the server gets the point.

The ball can hit anywhere on the top of the table to be in and the edge is considered part of the top.


Recommended Video

Can You Hide Your Serve? The Official Rule Explained

Are you allowed to hide your serve in table tennis? 🤔 Let’s break down the official rules and clear up any confusion! In this video, we explain:

✅ What the ITTF rules say about hiding your serve
✅ Why hidden serves are illegal and how umpires enforce the rule
✅ What you can (and can’t) do when serving in a match

Mastering a legal serve is key to fair play and improving your game. Watch now to make sure you’re not unintentionally breaking the rules! 🏓

Watch Now

Thoughts on this question


Uzair UK

Uzair UK Posted 6 years ago

Thank you Alois.

You guided well, Plz make video regarding this rule and guide us further as well.

One more thing I've to ask,

I'm a right hand player , If I play a stroke and I put my other(left) hand on the table, so is it legal? My opponent would get the point?


Benzene Chiral

Benzene Chiral Posted 6 years ago

You can't put your free hand on the table. 


Become a free member to post a comment about this question.