Serve fault

Rules

Erwin lovesplayingtt
Erwin lovesplayingtt Asked 1 month ago

I was penalized a point because my ball briefly disappeared under the edge of the table in my open hand during my service stroke. The ball didn't leave my hand until I was back above the edge of the table with my open hand. I believed that a serve only began AFTER the ball left my hand, and therefore this couldn't be considered a service fault. Can you—or any other experts here—provide an answer to this?

I know the ball should ALWAYS be visible to the receiving player, but my humble opinion thought it was after the ball left the hand.


Alois Rosario
Member Badge Alois Rosario Answered 1 month ago

Hi Erwin,

The serve does start before the ball leaves the hand.  It starts when you have the ball stationary in the hand.  This is how the rule is written.

2.6.1 Service shall start with the ball resting freely on the open palm of the server's stationary free hand.

Therefore you do need to keep the ball above the level of the table surface and visible.

I hope this clears it up for you.


Recommended Video

Table Tennis Rules Overview

This video lesson takes you through the essential Table Tennis rules. Watch the video and become an expert in topics such as how to win points, what score to play up to, and how to serve in doubles. There is no need to have arguments over the rules so get all your friends to watch this lesson too!

Watch Now

No comments yet!


Become a free member to post a comment about this question.