Rules Serving

Rules

Maaz Irfan
Maaz Irfan Asked 12 years ago

Hi there!

  1. i want to ask that if in service the ball goes in cross is it reserved or not? IN SINGLES NOT DOUBLES.
  2. Secondly i want to ask while serving if the ball touches the white line is it reserved or not in singles?
  3. If the racket touches the table is it a foul or not
  4. while playing if we put our hand on the table for support is it a foul or not?

Looking forward for your reply

Thanks


Alois Rosario
Member Badge Alois Rosario Answered 12 years ago

Hi Maaz,

In singles you can serve from anywhere on the table to anywhere.  The white line down the middle is only for the doubles serve.

The white line is in, so if the ball touches the white line it is a good serve.

The racket is allowed to touch the table.  The only thing that isn't allowed to touch the table is your free hand.  Even if your playing hand touches the table that is OK, just not your free hand.

Hope this helps you to sort out some rules and arguments.

You can also take a look at our free download of Table Tennis Rules (PDF).  This is good to keep with you.


Recommended Video

Table Tennis Video Tutorial

Hitting the Ceiling

When the ball hits the ceiling the point is over. You must hit the ball directly back onto the table otherwise you lose the point. In International tournaments the roof needs to be at least 5 metres above the playing surface but in local competitions you might often encounter much lower ceilings.

Watch Now

No comments yet!


Become a free member to post a comment about this question.