Rules in changing the serve

Rules

Archel Taneka Sutanto
Archel Taneka Sutanto Asked 12 years ago

Hi Alois and Jeff,
I confused with the rules in changing the serve. My school still uses the old rules. When the total point of both players reaches 5 (multiples of 5) the serve changes side. Could you give me the specific rules especially in serving, please? Thanks before! :D


Alois Rosario
Member Badge Alois Rosario Answered 12 years ago

Hi Archel,

Since they changed games to be up to 11 points we now change serve after 2 points.

Take a look at this Table Tennis Rules (PDF) brochure that is available from the Free Downloads section of our site.  There is a link to the Free Downloads right at the bottom of each page.

This brochure will give you an outline of the rules.  You can even take it to school and show then the new rules.


Recommended Video

Can You Hide Your Serve? The Official Rule Explained

Are you allowed to hide your serve in table tennis? 🤔 Let’s break down the official rules and clear up any confusion! In this video, we explain:

✅ What the ITTF rules say about hiding your serve
✅ Why hidden serves are illegal and how umpires enforce the rule
✅ What you can (and can’t) do when serving in a match

Mastering a legal serve is key to fair play and improving your game. Watch now to make sure you’re not unintentionally breaking the rules! 🏓

Watch Now

Thoughts on this question


Archel Taneka Sutanto

Archel Taneka Sutanto Posted 12 years ago

Thx a lot Alois! :D


Become a free member to post a comment about this question.