Rule of return

Rules

Victor Quek
Victor Quek Asked 13 years ago

Is it legal to step over the end-line, near to the net, beside the table, while I want to receive the ball on my top-left or top-right?


Alois Rosario
Member Badge Alois Rosario Answered 13 years ago

Hi Victor,

Yes you can step past the end line.  In fact you are allowed to move anywhere on the court even past the net if you need to. 

When you are serving the ball must be behind the end line. 


Recommended Video

Top 5 Most Misunderstood Table Tennis Rules

In this video, we break down the Top 5 Most Misunderstood Table Tennis Rules that even experienced players often get wrong. Knowing these rules can prevent disputes, boost your confidence, and help you play with a clear head. We’ll cover common misconceptions like:

  • The correct toss height for serving 🎯
  • How many let serves can you do before it is a fault 🚦
  • Why touching the table with your free hand is a no-no 🖐️
  • When volleying loses you the point ❌
  • Whether you are allowed to hit around or under the net 🔄

Watch Now

No comments yet!


Become a free member to post a comment about this question.