Returning serve placement

Rules

joshhua espiritu
joshhua espiritu Asked 12 years ago

hi coach

I was playing table tennis with my father and when he serve and i return the serve in the other part of his base he is always saying that that is a fault

is it true?

THANKS!


Alois Rosario
Member Badge Alois Rosario Answered 12 years ago

Hi Joshhua,

You are allowed to return the serve anywhere on the table.  It is only the serve in doubles that has restrictions as to where you can place it.


Recommended Video

Top 5 Most Misunderstood Table Tennis Rules

In this video, we break down the Top 5 Most Misunderstood Table Tennis Rules that even experienced players often get wrong. Knowing these rules can prevent disputes, boost your confidence, and help you play with a clear head. We’ll cover common misconceptions like:

  • The correct toss height for serving 🎯
  • How many let serves can you do before it is a fault 🚦
  • Why touching the table with your free hand is a no-no 🖐️
  • When volleying loses you the point ❌
  • Whether you are allowed to hit around or under the net 🔄

Watch Now

No comments yet!


Become a free member to post a comment about this question.