Ping Pong Rules

Table Tennis Rules

Last updated 8 years ago

Rajiv Nair

Rajiv Nair Asked 8 years ago

Hi,

Is it a fault if:

a) The bat hits the table while playing a shot

b) If the ball hits the fingers of the playing arm

c) if any part of the body hits the table after the shot is played... i mean the follow through of the shot

 Cheers

Rajiv


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario Answered 8 years ago

Hi Rajiv,

The bat is allowed to touch the table during a game.

Up to the wrist is considered as part of the bat. If the ball hits your finger it is still a legal shot.  This applies even if it hits both your finger and the bat on the one swing as long as you are not deliberately double hitting the ball.

The only thing that isn't allowed to touch the table is your free hand.  Any other part of your body is allowed to touch the table at any time.

I hope this helps with the rules for you.

You can also take a look at our free download brochure on Table Tennis Rules (PDF) or Table Tennis Rules (Word).  This may answer some other questions you come across. 


Notify me of updates
Add to Favourites
Back to Questions

No comments yet!


Become a free member to post a comment about this question.