Opponent falls down on the table

Table Tennis Rules

Last updated 6 years ago

ujjval verma

ujjval verma Asked 6 years ago

Dear Alois,

Greetings!!!

We faced a different yesterday. My opponent hit a hard smash and ball came fast on my side. It hit my bat and fell down on floor. However as I raised my head, I found that my opponent's body went out of control and he took support of the table to settle (table even moved a little bit).

Now the question:- His first touch on the table took place after the ball hit the floor. Now he claims that his shot and my reply were completed before he fell down on table. Who wins the point? Is this a table fault?

Please guide.

Thanks in advance

Ujjval


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario Answered 6 years ago

Hi Ujjval,

If the ball has hit the floor the point is over so he would not lose the point for touching the table and moving it.

This would be the umpires call if there is an umpire for the match.


Notify me of updates
Add to Favourites
Back to Questions

Thoughts on this question

anoop singh

anoop singh Posted 6 years ago

Wht if ujjwal's opponent touches the table with hand or his bat and the ball did not hit the floor ? (The table made

No movement though)  --- case1.

Case2: same situation but table moved.

Who wins the point in both cases ?


Jeff Plumb

Jeff Plumb from PingSkills Posted 6 years ago

Hi Anoop,

If you touch the table with your non-playing had whilst the ball is in play, you automatically lose the point even if the table does not move. If the table does move, you still lose the point both because you touched the table with your non-playing hand and because you moved the table.

You are allowed to touch the table with any other part of your body as long as you don't move the table.


anoop singh

anoop singh Posted 6 years ago

And I believe if I touch the table with my playing hand (while the ball is in play) and I move the table, I lose the point right ?


ujjval verma

ujjval verma Posted 6 years ago

Rosario ; Jeff.. ROCKS !!!

 

Thanks a tonne.


Jeff Plumb

Jeff Plumb from PingSkills Posted 6 years ago

Hi Anoop,

Yes, if you move the table any way while the ball is in play, you lose the point.


anoop singh

anoop singh Posted 6 years ago

Thankyou Jeff.


Thomas Wood

Thomas Wood Posted 6 years ago

And if you put your non playing hand on the table you also lose the point am I right


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario from PingSkills Posted 6 years ago

Yes that is correct.


Hossam Samy

Hossam Samy Posted 6 years ago

so if I put my playing hand on the table it's considered legal?


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario from PingSkills Posted 6 years ago

Yes the only thing that can't touch the table is your free hand.



Become a free member to post a comment about this question.