Obstruction rule

Rules

Jasper Low
Jasper Low Asked 3 months ago

https://youtube.com/shorts/LGKWoxAnSYw?si=fbPb4wEmmnlXExum

Look at this amazing ghost push right off a net ball by Alexis Lebrun, it was done at the side of the table, if Truls were to go around the side to catch that but Alexis were still standing there,  would that count as obstruction?

 


Alois Rosario
Member Badge Alois Rosario Answered 3 months ago

Hi Jasper,

That was an amazing get and an amazing shot by Alexis.  He has some incredible touch and feel for the ball.  It is usually Truls that is pulling those types of shots.

There is nothing in the rules about Obstruction using your body to stop an opponent.  The Obstruction rule pertains to you stopping the ball from going back onto the table.

In the Definition section of the ITTF Rules it states:
2.5.8 A player obstructs the ball if he or she, or anything he or she wears or carries, touches it in play when it is above or travelling towards the playing surface, not having touched his or her court since last being struck by his or her opponent.


Recommended Video

Top 5 Most Misunderstood Table Tennis Rules

In this video, we break down the Top 5 Most Misunderstood Table Tennis Rules that even experienced players often get wrong. Knowing these rules can prevent disputes, boost your confidence, and help you play with a clear head. We’ll cover common misconceptions like:

  • The correct toss height for serving 🎯
  • How many let serves can you do before it is a fault 🚦
  • Why touching the table with your free hand is a no-no 🖐️
  • When volleying loses you the point ❌
  • Whether you are allowed to hit around or under the net 🔄

Watch Now

Thoughts on this question


Jasper Low

Jasper Low Posted 3 months ago

The amount of feel you'll need in that unexpected moment is crazy, not to mention the super quick reflexes to get there. 


Become a free member to post a comment about this question.