Net serve that hits the net clamp

Rules

Timothy Sullentrup
Timothy Sullentrup Asked 9 months ago

A net serve that makes contact with the net clamp, not the table.

Is it a fault or a let?

If it’s a let, does it matter if it contacts the clamp portion that’s outside the table sideline?

thank you,

Tim Sullentrup 


Alois Rosario
Member Badge Alois Rosario Answered 9 months ago

Hi Timothy,

Thanks for your question regarding the rules about a let serve in table tennis. The net, the post and the clamp are all considered to be part of the net, even the part that is over the table.

So, in your scenario, if the served ball hits the net clamp and not the table after that, then it is a fault because it hasn't landed on both sides of the table.


Recommended Video

Table Tennis Video Tutorial

Doubles Serving Rules

In this video we go over the somewhat complicated rules of serving for doubles in table tennis. There are a couple of extra rules for doubles that you don't apply to singles. In doubles you always serve from the right hand box diagonally to your opponent's right hand box. Each player has 2 serves each. If you've just been receiving then it's your turn to serve next.

Watch Now

No comments yet!


Become a free member to post a comment about this question.