Moving onto the side of the table

Table Tennis Rules

Last updated 7 years ago

Muhammad Awais

Muhammad Awais Asked 7 years ago

Is it allowed that after the second tip on opponents table in moves left or right side of the table.


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario Answered 7 years ago

Hi Muhammad,

Yes after the serve you can move anywhere around the table, even onto the opponents side of the net as long as you don't interfere with the opponent.


Notify me of updates
Add to Favourites
Back to Questions

Thoughts on this question

Muhammad Awais

Muhammad Awais Posted 7 years ago

Sorry my asking way was wrong.

I was asking that can ball goes left or right side of the table after 2nd tip on opponents table.(there are three sides of table's court, front side where the player is standing and the remaining left and right side)

Plz answere and sorry plz.


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario from PingSkills Posted 7 years ago

Sorry Muhammad, the ball can go off the side of the table.  It does not have to go off the end of the table where the player is standing.  Did I get the meaning this time?


Muhammad Awais

Muhammad Awais Posted 7 years ago

Alois you are best, a teacher as well as a freind thank you very very much.

Please if you don't mind can you send me any link which tells about this thing clearly.

My teachers are not believing me and made me lose my match saying that you would be my freind.

PLease help me.


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario from PingSkills Posted 7 years ago

I don't have any links at the moment but if you go to any high level match on Youtube you will be able to show them that this is happening often.


Muhammad Awais

Muhammad Awais Posted 7 years ago

Thank you very much again for helping and sorry for wasting your time. 


ganesh burra

ganesh burra Posted 7 years ago

I guess Awais is asking if we can serve on either side of the middle white line.



Become a free member to post a comment about this question.