Missing the ball when serving

Rules

Ayan Madan
Ayan Madan Asked 17 years ago

Hi Guys!!!

I am a little confused about something... while serving, if you toss the ball up and you MISS hitting the ball, is that a fault or do you get to serve again??

 And... in doubles, is serving on the centre line accepted or is it a fault??

Thanks,

Ayan 


Jeff Plumb
Member Badge Jeff Plumb Answered 17 years ago

Hi Ayan,

If you toss the ball up and miss hitting it, it is still a fault. In fact even if you throw the ball up and don't attempt to hit it, it is still a fault.

 And in doubles, if the ball hits the centre line at all, then this is in.

I hope this clears things up for you.


Recommended Video

Table Tennis Video Tutorial

Doubles Serving Rules

In this video we go over the somewhat complicated rules of serving for doubles in table tennis. There are a couple of extra rules for doubles that you don't apply to singles. In doubles you always serve from the right hand box diagonally to your opponent's right hand box. Each player has 2 serves each. If you've just been receiving then it's your turn to serve next.

Watch Now

Thoughts on this question


Ayan Madan

Ayan Madan Posted 17 years ago

Thanks Jeff!!

Become a free member to post a comment about this question.