Let serve

Table Tennis Rules

Last updated 6 years ago

Bruce Ward

Bruce Ward Asked 6 years ago

I was reading the ITTF rules and they define a "let" but not the result. It is commonly simply "do over". However, a player today told me that a second "let" on the same service attempt was a point for the receiver. Is this correct?


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario Answered 6 years ago

Hi Bruce,

You never lose a point for serving a let, so even if you serve 10 lets in a row, it is still always a let.

I hope this clears this up for you and solves any arguments.

Take a look at our lesson on the Table Tennis Rules Overview for this and other clarifications.


Notify me of updates
Add to Favourites
Back to Questions

No comments yet!


Become a free member to post a comment about this question.