Let serve

Rules

Bruce Ward
Bruce Ward Asked 11 years ago

I was reading the ITTF rules and they define a "let" but not the result. It is commonly simply "do over". However, a player today told me that a second "let" on the same service attempt was a point for the receiver. Is this correct?


Alois Rosario
Member Badge Alois Rosario Answered 11 years ago

Hi Bruce,

You never lose a point for serving a let, so even if you serve 10 lets in a row, it is still always a let.

I hope this clears this up for you and solves any arguments.

Take a look at our lesson on the Table Tennis Rules Overview for this and other clarifications.


Recommended Video

Top 5 Most Misunderstood Table Tennis Rules

In this video, we break down the Top 5 Most Misunderstood Table Tennis Rules that even experienced players often get wrong. Knowing these rules can prevent disputes, boost your confidence, and help you play with a clear head. We’ll cover common misconceptions like:

  • The correct toss height for serving 🎯
  • How many let serves can you do before it is a fault 🚦
  • Why touching the table with your free hand is a no-no 🖐️
  • When volleying loses you the point ❌
  • Whether you are allowed to hit around or under the net 🔄

Watch Now

No comments yet!


Become a free member to post a comment about this question.