Injuries

Rules

alex fernandez
alex fernandez Asked 12 years ago

hi alois

I sack, my opponent, returned the ball, and i, to return the ball, I hit my hand on the table and I do a lot of damage. then, what happens? :

1 - I raise my hand for stop the point and the umpire gives it to me and says to repeat the point.
2-point remains though it hurts me.
3-the referee stop the point and this point is repeated when I am well.

thanks.


Alois Rosario
Member Badge Alois Rosario Answered 12 years ago

Hi Alex,

This is up to the umpire to call it.  He may let you stop the point.  In most cases the opposition would allow the point to stop.


Recommended Video

Table Tennis Video Tutorial

Hitting the Ceiling

When the ball hits the ceiling the point is over. You must hit the ball directly back onto the table otherwise you lose the point. In International tournaments the roof needs to be at least 5 metres above the playing surface but in local competitions you might often encounter much lower ceilings.

Watch Now

Thoughts on this question


alex fernandez

alex fernandez Posted 12 years ago

then I can raise my hand and the referee stopped the point and then repeat.
right??


Alois Rosario

Member Badge Alois Rosario from PingSkills Posted 12 years ago

If you raise your hand, it is still up to the umpire to call a let.  They don't have to.


alex fernandez

alex fernandez Posted 12 years ago

i don,t understand you. 


Alois Rosario

Member Badge Alois Rosario from PingSkills Posted 12 years ago

The umpire does not have to say it is a let and stop the point.  It is their judgement.


alex fernandez

alex fernandez Posted 12 years ago

then, if I get hurt or hit me in the middle of a point, the referee does not say anything.
then I have to raise my hand or talk to my opponent that I've beaten and then my opponent will say ok and tell it to repeat, then the referee will say that is a let. Right???


Alois Rosario

Member Badge Alois Rosario from PingSkills Posted 12 years ago

That is often what happens.


alex fernandez

alex fernandez Posted 12 years ago

ok. thank you very much.


Become a free member to post a comment about this question.