Illegal time-outs

Table Tennis Rules

Last updated 7 years ago

azhar bhabha

azhar bhabha Asked 7 years ago

Is it allowed in a tournament setting for an opponent to break my rhythm by going and drinking water, talking to himself,using a towel etc without taking a timeout? also since it isn't a time out and there is no timer,what is the rule regarding this period of time?? can't it be misused? so often after winning 4-5 points in a row i have had opponents holding their hand up not allowing me to serve talking to themselves for as much as 30 seconds.The referrees haven't corrected them.


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario Answered 7 years ago

Hi Azhar,

The rule is that play should be continuous.  After each 6 points you are allowed a towel break. This is only for a few seconds as well just enough time to towel yourself down.

It is a difficult rule to police if there isn't an official umpire.


Notify me of updates
Add to Favourites
Back to Questions

No comments yet!


Become a free member to post a comment about this question.