How High Must I Throw The Ball When Serving?

Table Tennis Rules

Last updated 10 years ago

Brad Price

Brad Price Asked 10 years ago

I know that you have to throw the ball up when serving, is there a minimum height requirment that you have to throw the ball up? People are saying that my serves are illegal because i throw them too low.


Jeff Plumb

Jeff Plumb Answered 10 years ago

Hi Brad,

You need to throw the ball up at least 16cm (approximately 6 inches or the height of the net). 


Notify me of updates
Add to Favourites
Back to Questions

Thoughts on this question

Julio Torres

Julio Torres Posted 10 years ago

If you throw the ball higher, your serve is going to be more spinny...


Brad Price

Brad Price Posted 10 years ago

Thanks Julio for that extra tip and of course thanks Alois for the reply.


Brad Price

Brad Price Posted 10 years ago

Jeff*  crap sorry i forgot to read the name DX im so used to Alois replying to questions


Brad Price

Brad Price Posted 10 years ago

I feel terrible now lol this always happens don't take it personally.



Become a free member to post a comment about this question.