Hitting with your hand

Rules

stephin jith
stephin jith Asked 8 years ago

I am a right handed player.in a match my opponent smashed the ball to my left side.in a quick response i raised my left hand and the ball hit my left hand and landed on the opponents court which he failed to keep in play.so wil i get this point.is it legal.


Alois Rosario
Member Badge Alois Rosario Answered 8 years ago

Hi Stephin,

That would be your opponent's point.  You have to have a bat in your hand when you hit the ball.  If the ball hits your hand with the bat in it and goes on then it is a good stroke.


Recommended Video

Top 5 Most Misunderstood Table Tennis Rules

In this video, we break down the Top 5 Most Misunderstood Table Tennis Rules that even experienced players often get wrong. Knowing these rules can prevent disputes, boost your confidence, and help you play with a clear head. We’ll cover common misconceptions like:

  • The correct toss height for serving 🎯
  • How many let serves can you do before it is a fault 🚦
  • Why touching the table with your free hand is a no-no 🖐️
  • When volleying loses you the point ❌
  • Whether you are allowed to hit around or under the net 🔄

Watch Now

No comments yet!


Become a free member to post a comment about this question.