Hitting my table edge first

Rules

Ian Hutchison
Ian Hutchison Asked 3 months ago

The other day I hit a half-long ball from below the table, plenty of topspin, it caught the edge of the table on my side, carried on up & forward & fell just short on my side of the net. If it had landed on my opponent's side, would that have been legal?


Alois Rosario
Member Badge Alois Rosario Answered 3 months ago

Hi Ian,

It sounds like you managed to generate a lot of topspin — enough for the ball to bounce on your side and still travel back toward your opponent.

However, in a normal rally, once the ball has bounced on your side of the table, the point is over unless it’s your own serve. So even if the ball had spun up and landed on your opponent’s side, it would not have been a legal shot. The rules state that during a rally, the ball must pass over (or around) the net and land directly on your opponent’s side without first bouncing on yours.


Recommended Video

Table Tennis Video Tutorial

Hitting the Ball on the Full

In this video we explain what happens when someone hits the ball before it bounces in a rally. This is also known as hitting the ball on the full. The point stop immediately when this happens but who's point is it? This depends on where the ball was hit. Watch the video to find out more.

Watch Now

No comments yet!


Become a free member to post a comment about this question.