Rules
I saw a youtube recording of an old match with Timo Boll. He made a fantastic save as the ball hit the post. They ruled it a fault, but I was confused as to why. I don't know if the ball hit the net and then the post, or if it hit the net, then the table, then the post. It was not explained very well, and the explanation had to do with the intent of the rule, the actual situation was not addressed in the rules. Are you familiar with this clip?
Hi Tim,
I am not familiar with the clip but it may have been that the serve only hit the net post and then the net clamp part above the table so it didn't actually hit the surface of the table which is why it may have been ruled to be a Fault and not a Let.
In this video we go over the somewhat complicated rules of serving for doubles in table tennis. There are a couple of extra rules for doubles that you don't apply to singles. In doubles you always serve from the right hand box diagonally to your opponent's right hand box. Each player has 2 serves each. If you've just been receiving then it's your turn to serve next.
Watch NowBecome a free member to post a comment about this question.
tim gerg Posted 1 month ago
I found the clip, relevant part is at about 46 seconds in and the rule explanation is at about 1:55 in. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=d9QulQI1K2Y
apparently, the ball hit the net, then the table and then the post before Timo was able to hit it. They said it is actually not exactly addressed in the rules but interpreted as a double net touch being a fault because he should have returned it between the net touches. Maybe you can explain it better so others can understand it clearly. The clip is poorly explained.
Hi Tim,
The ball is allowed to touch the net twice before you hit it. I don’t agree with the commentary in that video.
It is hard to see exactly what happened with that ball and it would have been even more difficult for the umpire in real time on the far side of the table.