Doubles Fault over the centre line

Table Tennis Rules

Last updated 4 years ago

Nigel Fewster

Nigel Fewster Asked 4 years ago

Your last ping cast reminded me of this question. When serving in doubles and the ball lands on centre line of table, is that still a good serve? Or how much of the ball has to be on each side of the centre line? I take the example of UK football where it's only a goal if the whole of the ball has crossed the goal line ie no part/fraction looking along the line impinges on it.

 


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario Answered 4 years ago

Hi NIgel,

If any part of the ball is on the line it is in.  This is always a difficult one to judge though.  The line is always very fine and the ball moves so fast and with no lines people the umpire has to have a good feel for it to get it right.


Notify me of updates
Add to Favourites
Back to Questions

No comments yet!


Become a free member to post a comment about this question.