Good Serve Etiquette

Table Tennis Serving

Last updated 5 years ago

Thomas Kunzfeld

Thomas Kunzfeld Asked 5 years ago

Hi Alois,

the first serve that I´m now practicing seriously is the pendulum backspin serve.

It happens quite often that the ball lands softly exactly JUST behind the net.

Recently I played with someone with a whole life of playing experience and this serve won me some points, and he criticized this serve and the points won by it.

Until now I thought: If a serve wins you a point it´s a good serve.

Now I wonder whether there is a kind of unwritten rule that you are not supposed to serve like this.

What do you think?


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario Answered 5 years ago

Hi Thomas,

This is a good serve and there is no such etiquette.  If the serve troubles you opponent and it complies with the rules of the game then it is good.

Often players get grumpy if they face a serve they can’t return.


Notify me of updates
Add to Favourites
Back to Questions

Thoughts on this question

Thomas Kunzfeld

Thomas Kunzfeld Posted 5 years ago

Thank you - that´s helpful :-)

 



Become a free member to post a comment about this question.