Doubles centre line

Rules

Barry Cornforth
Barry Cornforth Asked 5 years ago

Hi,when playing doubles and i'm serving down the middle of the table,is it a foul when any part of the ball crosses the centre line or does the whole of the ball need to be over the line before i loose the point.Who does the centre line belong to.


Alois Rosario
Member Badge Alois Rosario Answered 5 years ago

Hi Barry,

As long as some part of the ball touches the line it is a good serve.

 This is often difficult to tell since the ball is so small and the line so thin. 


Recommended Video

Table Tennis Video Tutorial

Hitting the Ceiling

When the ball hits the ceiling the point is over. You must hit the ball directly back onto the table otherwise you lose the point. In International tournaments the roof needs to be at least 5 metres above the playing surface but in local competitions you might often encounter much lower ceilings.

Watch Now

No comments yet!


Become a free member to post a comment about this question.