Crossing over to the other side

Table Tennis Rules

Last updated 7 years ago

ankit kane

ankit kane Asked 7 years ago

in case of a back spin, are you allowed to cross the net after playing the shot? can you cross the net and play a shot?

in case you lose balance, is it a foul if you touch the table but do not shake it? can you stand on the table and play a shot without moving the table?


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario Answered 7 years ago

Hi Ankit,

You are allowed to go on to the other side of the court as long as you don't interfere with the other player.  You can do this before or after playing a shot.  You aren't allowed to touch the net though.

The only part of your body that isn't allowed to touch the table is your free hand.  So anything else is allowed to touch the table as long as you don't move the table. Yes you are even allowed to stand on the table but that is difficult without moving it.


Notify me of updates
Add to Favourites
Back to Questions

Thoughts on this question

Martin Elliget

Martin Elliget Posted 7 years ago

lol Alois, this is a revelation! I didn't know that standing on the table was allowed. Your caveat that you are not allowed to move the table may not be such a problem with those solid, one-piece tables that are sometimes used. But obviously you could only stand on the table when receiving, not serving. This just may be the answer to beating the top Chinese players - stand on the table, when receiving, and use a 1.52 meter wide bat!


Collin Hill

Collin Hill Posted 7 years ago

Hey Alois, I think I know the answer to this question But, what if my opponent hits it with so much backspin that it hits my side and then goes back over the net before I hit it... Does this count as his point?


Jeff Plumb

Jeff Plumb from PingSkills Posted 7 years ago

Yes Collin, that counts as his point.


Wilson Cheah

Wilson Cheah Posted 7 years ago

Regarding going on the side of the table to hit the ball, I have a situation I would like Jeff or Alois (or in fact anyone in the community) to try to answer.

So the ball near the side of the table and you move to the side and hit it, and your arm/ bat ends up above the surface on your opponent's table. Then your opponent reacts quick and returns your stroke and the ball ends up hitting your bat. If the stroke your opponent makes is supposed to be a clear shot (that it would have hit your side if your bat wasn't in the way), how would that point be judged? 


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario from PingSkills Posted 7 years ago

Hi Wilson,

That would be a point against you for obstruction.  Even if it didn't look like the ball was going to hit your side of the table it would still be obstruction and the point against you.


Arnab Ghosh

Arnab Ghosh Posted 7 years ago

Hi Alois,
This is really interesting point in the rule book that you have cleared and so thank you for this post and the video.
One more thing I would like you to verify and that is - if the opponent serves with such backspin which makes the ball bounce on his court, then on my court and as the spin kicks in, the ball retreats back, so am I still allowed to crossover, if I can, to return the serve?


Jeff Plumb

Jeff Plumb from PingSkills Posted 7 years ago

Hi Arnab,

That is correct. You you are best to move down one side of the table to get close enough to the ball. 


Tom Oxas

Tom Oxas Posted 7 years ago

But when I return the ball to other side can i block my opponent with my racket (without touching ball)?


Tom Oxas

Tom Oxas Posted 7 years ago

and it will be my point?

 


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario from PingSkills Posted 7 years ago

No you are not allowed to interfere with their shot.  You would lose the point in this situation.



Become a free member to post a comment about this question.