Bat touches the table is it fault

Rules

Bhanu Shankar
Bhanu Shankar Asked 11 years ago

If the bat touches the table while serving, is it a good serve or a fault?

If the body touches the table while serving or in between the game, is it a fault?


Alois Rosario
Member Badge Alois Rosario Answered 11 years ago

Hi Bhanu,

The only thing that isn't allowed to touch the table is your free hand.  Anything else is allowed to touch the table as long as you don't move the surface of the table.

So if the bat touches the table while serving it is a good serve.


Recommended Video

Top 5 Most Misunderstood Table Tennis Rules

In this video, we break down the Top 5 Most Misunderstood Table Tennis Rules that even experienced players often get wrong. Knowing these rules can prevent disputes, boost your confidence, and help you play with a clear head. We’ll cover common misconceptions like:

  • The correct toss height for serving 🎯
  • How many let serves can you do before it is a fault 🚦
  • Why touching the table with your free hand is a no-no 🖐️
  • When volleying loses you the point ❌
  • Whether you are allowed to hit around or under the net 🔄

Watch Now

No comments yet!


Become a free member to post a comment about this question.