Ball coming back with backspin

Table Tennis Rules

Last updated 10 years ago

Galen Corvan- Hughes

Galen Corvan- Hughes Asked 10 years ago

Hi Alois

If you put backspin on the ball and it goes onto your opponents side on the court but comes back on your side without the opponent hitting it. Who gets the point? Would it still be in?


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario Answered 10 years ago

Hi Galen,

If you put enough backspin on the ball your opponent has to hit the ball before it comes back onto your side for them to stay in the point.

If they don't hit the ball it is your point. 


Notify me of updates
Add to Favourites
Back to Questions

Thoughts on this question

Galen Corvan- Hughes

Galen Corvan- Hughes Posted 10 years ago

Thanks for that. I don't think many people realise that rule. I was playing one of my friends and this exact perdicament came up. Glad you could clarify it for me.


Become a free member to post a comment about this question.