Backspin back over the net

Rules

John Teti
John Teti Asked 12 years ago

I watched a match in which a player hit the ball with backspin that the receiver did not touch but then spun back over the net after hitting the receiver's side of the table one time. Who gets the point?

Thanks,

JT


Alois Rosario
Member Badge Alois Rosario Answered 12 years ago

Hi JT,

That would be the players point who hit the ball with backspin. ย The opponent has to touch the ball before it goes back over the net for the point to continue.


Recommended Video

Top 5 Most Misunderstood Table Tennis Rules

In this video, we break down the Top 5 Most Misunderstood Table Tennis Rules that even experienced players often get wrong. Knowing these rules can prevent disputes, boost your confidence, and help you play with a clear head. Weโ€™ll cover common misconceptions like:

  • The correct toss height for serving ๐ŸŽฏ
  • How many let serves can you do before it is a fault ๐Ÿšฆ
  • Why touching the table with your free hand is a no-no ๐Ÿ–๏ธ
  • When volleying loses you the point โŒ
  • Whether you are allowed to hit around or under the net ๐Ÿ”„

Watch Now

No comments yet!


Become a free member to post a comment about this question.