Are we allowed to touch the table with the racquet

Table Tennis Rules

Last updated 3 years ago

Nimit  Mistry

Nimit Mistry Asked 3 years ago

I have seen in some matches , that the players touch the table with the racquet,  but the rally continues, but some of my friends , who go to classes for table tennis, are told by their coach that the racquet can't touch the table.

I am confused, so exactly what is the rule?


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario Answered 3 years ago

Hi Nimit,

The racket is definitely allowed to touch the table.  The only thing that isn't allowed to touch the table is your free hand.


Notify me of updates
Add to Favourites
Back to Questions

No comments yet!


Become a free member to post a comment about this question.