Wrong returner returns a serve in doubles

Table Tennis Rules

Last updated 2 weeks ago

Tony Nelson

Tony Nelson Asked 2 years ago

So we were playing doubles at work and I returned the initial serve even though it wasn't my turn to return.  Obviously if someone returns two balls in a row it is an error but do you just replay the point if it was purely an accident that I forgot it was my teammates turn to return serve?  The opposing team called out the mistake about 3 hits in and said it was their point.  I said we should just replay it since it was an honest mistake, the same as when the wrong person serves, doesn't rotate, or switch sides correctly.  


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario Answered 2 years ago

Hi Tony,

It would be a let especially if it is picked up during the point.

Just replay the point.


Notify me of updates
Add to Favourites
Back to Questions

Thoughts on this question

Gordon Hume

Gordon Hume Posted 2 years ago

Hi, Tony

Obviously, Alois is right, your opponents wrong.  Just quote the ITTF Handbook sections to your workmates:-

2.14 OUT OF ORDER OF SERVING, RECEIVING OR ENDS

2.14.1 If a player serves or receives out of turn, play shall be interrupted by the umpire as soon as the error is discovered and shall resume with those players serving and receiving who should be server and receiver respectively at the score that has been reached, according to the sequence established at the beginning of the match and, in doubles, to the order of serving chosen by the pair having the right to serve first in the game during which the error is discovered.

2.14.2 If the players have not changed ends when they should have done so, play shall be interrupted by the umpire as soon as the error is discovered and shall resume with the players at the ends at which they should be at the score that has been reached, according to the sequence established at the beginning of the match.

2.14.3 In any circumstances, all points scored before the discovery of an error shall be reckoned.

ITTF's web page is:-

https://www.ittf.com/handbook/

 


Tony Nelson

Tony Nelson Posted 2 weeks ago

Thanks guys.  Must have missed the email stating you guys responded.  Much appreciated.


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario from PingSkills Posted 2 weeks ago

Haha... no problems... Better late than never...



Become a free member to post a comment about this question.