Who Serves at the Start of Each Set

Table Tennis Rules

Last updated 2 years ago

Andy Zhao

Andy Zhao Asked 2 years ago

So, I know that the first person to serve in a game is decided either by coin toss or by rock-paper-scissors and about how 2 serves are given to each player per rotation (1 serve during deuce). After someone wins a set, who serves at the start of the next set?

Thanks in advance


Jeff Plumb

Jeff Plumb Answered 2 years ago

Hi Andy,

At the start of the match the umpire will toss a coin, and whoever wins the toss can decide whether to choose the end, or choose whether to serve or return. If they choose to take a particular end then the other player gets to choose who serves or receives. Once it has been decided who serves, then this alternates at the start of each subsequent set. So if you serve in the first set, your opponent will serve at the start of the second, and it will be back to you serving at the start of the third.

Let me know if this clears up the rule.


Notify me of updates
Add to Favourites
Back to Questions

Thoughts on this question

Andy Zhao

Andy Zhao Posted 2 years ago

This clears up the rule for me. Thank you very much!


Jeff Plumb

Jeff Plumb from PingSkills Posted 2 years ago

You're welcome Andy!



Become a free member to post a comment about this question.